The Painted Goddess

I cannot express just how happy it makes me to open up the companionway, enter the cabin, and not have to look at the colors orange, red, blue, and yellow all at the same time. Yes, Chad and I have painted the interior. It took us two days and a few coats, but we got it done, and man oh man the difference is huge. “It looks like a grown-up’s boat now, ” was Chad’s comment, and frankly I agree.

It’s a tangible sign of transferred ownership. This boat is now mine, and it looks like it (except for the non-skid, but we won’t go into that now). I chose a nice rich brown color for the bulkheads and the galley- Wild Horse at Home Depot if you’re interested- to imitate the fabulous wood grain Skipper Stripper painted over, and it pairs nicely with the creamy off-white of the fiberglass. I also painted the side trim covering the joint where the top and bottom of the boat were glassed together.

Enough of me talking. Here are some pictures.

DAY ONE

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Before.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Gross.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

The galley.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

First coat complete.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Better. Much better.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

I like the color scheme- classic.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Happy Chad.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Back of the new bulkhead.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Relaxing at night.

DAY TWO

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Muuuuch better.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Here you can see everything painted. What a difference.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Galley fit for a yacht.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Forward berth, with new side trim.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking towards the head.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Ahhhhh….

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

The sunlight was unintentional, but neat.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Everything back in place. Also, the new cooler/ fridge/ companionway step.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Second coat finished.

What a mess.

And just for reference- remember what it looked like before?


2 comments

  1. John,
    I’m glad to have come across your blog. I too am in the middle of a rifit/beautification project on an old P-26 (#207 1970). I have a couple questions. Was your boat without that port bulkhead with the mast stepped? I’d love to replace mine if it is possible without unstepping the mast. Also I noticed you have converted the settee berth to a galley. Do you have a photo of the inspiration for this modification. I am intrigued. I look forward to following your progress. I’m sure you have already discovered the dan pfeiffer pyxis page, I have learned a great deal about the boat from that site.

    Melissa in Mobile

    • Hey Melissa,
      Yes, the boat was missing the bulkhead while the mast was stepped. It took some convincing (read: shoving) to install it, but we were able to get it in there without major issues. I just screwed it in the other day. And the galley modification was there when I bought the boat- the only bit of ingenuity and foresight on behalf of the previous owner. I just painted over it to make it look good. And yes, the pyxis page has been a terrific resource.
      Thanks for reading,
      John


Leave a Reply

